Stages of Change Group

Group Objective

Participants will understand the 5 Stages of Change in the recovery process and as they apply to changing behaviors. Participants will also understand how to identify where they are in the stages and how to advance their recovery process.

Sessions Outline:

Session 1 – Introduction and establish agreed upon group rules. Review of the 5 Stages of Change.

Session 2 – Explore each Stage of Change and how the stage applies to each participant: Precontemplation, Contemplation, Preparation, Action, Maintenance.

Session 3 – Complete exercises associated with Precontemplation and Contemplation stages.

Session 4 – Complete exercises associated with Preparation and Action stages.

Session 5 – Complete exercises associated with Maintenance stage.

Session 6 – Develop Relapse Prevention plan for each participant.

Session 7 – Review current Stage of Change and Relapse Prevention plan for each participant.

Session 8 – Conclude group by summarizing lessons learned and sharing participants experiences utilizing the Stage of Change and Relapse Prevention models.

Register now


Behavioral Health Resources Near Me

Marc Lefkowitz

Marc Lefkowitz ICGC-II has been a certified gambling counselor for over 20 years. Marc is a national speaker facilitating problem gambling trainings and workshops on topics including financial recovery, treatment, Gamblers Anonymous, technology and responsible gaming. In 2012, Marc received California’s Lifetime Achievement Award for working with problem gamblers and their families. He is a recovering gambler with over 38 years of recovery and recently earned the NCPG’s Jeff Beck Recovery Award. Marc is the Director of Programming for Kindbridge.